Jose Altuve and Giancarlo Stanton Win M.V.P. Awards

Altuve collected 27 of 30 first-place votes, with Judge — who won the A.L. Rookie of the Year Award on Monday — placing second. In the National League, Miami’s Giancarlo Stanton took the honor, with Cincinnati’s Joey Votto the runner-up. Stanton and Votto both received 10 first-place votes, and Stanton edged Votto by just two points in the closest M.V.P. vote since 1979.

The Astros, who began in 1962 as the expansion Colt .45s, have just one other M.V.P. in their history, the Hall of Famer Jeff Bagwell in 1994. Bagwell’s Astros reached the World Series in his final season, 2005, but it was Altuve’s team that finally led the franchise all the way.

Listed at just 5 foot 6 inches, Altuve long ago shed the label of a curiosity — he is the game’s best pure hitter,…

Read Story